Investing My Heart in Motherhood Each Day

Do you have a vision for your parenting?

I find I need to renew my vision regularly so as not to get stuck in reactive mode. I need to be proactive in caring for and raising up these little souls that have been entrusted to me.

I so easily slip into auto-pilot. Do school, read story, play game, make lunch… – it takes less energy than being aware of my children’s “heart” needs and meeting them.

Its so easy to be busy with the work of homemaking and schooling that I often want to put the mothering aside for when its more convenient.

I need to remind myself of my priorities.

I need to use my first and best energy all day for my husband and children – the other things will follow.

When I am reminded of my vision, I am inspired!

I want to raise children that love God with their whole hearts and are ready to serve Him.

It takes more energy to be proactive in building character, to be led by God each moment and not settling for just getting by…

I want to be  sewing into my children’s lives and characters each day.

It takes more energy  to sit down with them and say: now lets talk about this, than to quickly brush it off.

I don’t want to miss the few opportunities I have to shepherd their hearts.

I want to do it while there is still time!

Have you read Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp?

“Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.” Psalm 127 v 3

Leave a Reply

