Letter to An Old Friend

To My Dear Friend

I miss you! You haven’t died – and yet it feels the same. I miss being able to spend time with you and share our excitement, hope and vision for the future.

Why did you fall away and why did you fall so far? What you are doing is an abomination to God.

Your love for Christ and for people always seemed so real. Its been 10 years since I last saw you – and I weep for you in my heart when I see the things you are involved in. How could you believe that you will find fulfillment and hope in those things? Maybe you have lost all hope.

I remember how no person was too dirty or unappealing for you to approach and share your love and the love of Christ. I remember how your heart was always ready to help and to give. Maybe that is still your heart but you just have lost your way.

I know that your sin makes God angry – just like mine does – but I know that my hope, my faith, my life is in Him. His righteousness covers my sin. His grace is sufficient for me – it is sufficient for you, too.

Why have you forsaken Him?

I am praying for your soul, my friend. My hope is that if you weren’t saved, you would come to know God as He is.

He is not like those who have hurt you and let you down – like the father who left you or the pastor that betrayed you. He is faithful and His Word is true. I know that you struggled so when your Mom died years ago. I know how hard that was for you. You can find peace in Him, you can trust in the sovereignty of God – he will take care of you.

I pray that God would heal your heart. He can save any sinner. He can save you, heal you and restore you to who He created you to be.

“And now abideth faith, hope and love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13 v 13

Leave a Reply

