The Very Last Time

The years with little ones are probably the busiest, the craziest, the fullest and the most demanding for a mother. The days can rush by, some feeling like we are merely coping rather than living life to the full.

But I’ve come to believe that the ‘little’ years are also the richest and the most rewarding! The ‘little’ years are the time when new little soldiers for Christ are being shaped in our homes. We have a unique but brief opportunity to impact their lives, to sew into their hearts, to add to their characters, to love as Christ loves, to build precious memories and to put aside our own agenda’s to be available to our little ones.

I want to savour and enjoy every moment of dirty floors, messy rooms, boisterous noise and general chaos!

Who knows when it will be the very last time my child picks me a flower from the garden or delightedly slips a little note under my pillow. They grow up so fast and I will never know till its over that it was the last time – the last time they would excitedly bring me a picture they had drawn or a story they had written, excitedly ask me to come and see what they have built or invite me into their tent with them. The very last time!

We celebrate the firsts – the first smile, the first tooth, the first step, the first word – but we often miss the lasts. The lasts don’t come with a warning – they are here and then gone forever, only to be looked back on with fond memories.

I want to remember this every day when I am busy or feeling overwhelmed or tired. I want to enjoy my children! I want the Lord to draw my heart towards my family and my children so that I might cherish the gifts He has blessed me with.

“And again, I will put my trust in him. And again, Behold I and the children which God hath given me.” Hebrews 2 v 13

Leave a Reply

