SEE THE BEAUTY – The Beauty of Being a Keeper at Home

After we returned from our camping trip by the sea, I was determined to keep God’s peace in my heart and not to let business overtake me or rob my husband and children of my time and attention – my first and most important priority.

The washing lay around the house in piles – but was taken care of one step at a time – without losing my peace.

The hard work of getting back into normal life is always hectic – but exciting as I harness my heart and God leads me into the new week. I love to plan lots and look over the plans for the week to come so that I am excited and can draw the children in and get them excited too!

I am so blessed to be able to be what God intended me to be – a keeper at home.

I am so blessed to have those many hours to nurture and train up the little ones in my care.

I am so strengthened by God’s promise of blessings when we obey Him.

I am refreshed daily by the thought of a new day, a fresh start to do things God’s way with His help, His grace and His leading.

I am excited each morning to explore life and learn together. I love seeing life through the eyes of my children – the wonder and joy as they discover and learn.

I am encouraged each time I talk crossly or fail to put them first by the knowledge that its God’s grace and I am on this journey trusting Him to do it…

As I plan the weeks food menu I think about who will help me cook and the conversations we’ll have and the things I can share.

As I plan the school for the week and as I research the history, looking at the timeline I am so excited to share about God’s faithfulness and providence.

I am so excited to look at the globe together and read some wonderful books. I love that absolute silence that comes in the midst of a nail-biting story of danger, providence, bravery and hope – as the children hold their breaths and listen intently.

As I wash the dishes I mull over the day and pray for wisdom with the things that went wrong, the times that I was impatient and for areas the children are struggling in. New ideas come and I am refreshed.


I love being at home where we set our own pace away from the crazy rush of the modern world. I love the rhythm of our days as we move from one thing to the next.

As I plan the crafts for the week I feel stretched but excited that God is changing me and working in me eternal character as I do things that don’t come easily. I am excited to see the children enjoy it all so much, it makes all my time and effort so worthwhile.

As I think about what songs to sing, what music to listen to and what books to read… I realise how blessed I am – and I SEE THE BEAUTY of this wonderful journey of motherhood that God has put me on.

I am so blessed to be able to help my husband and to be a Keeper at Home.

“The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things; That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.” Titus 2 v 3-5

Leave a Reply

