SEE THE BEAUTY – The Beauty of Creation

We went camping recently – to an absolutely beautiful place by the ocean. There was the sound of the waves crashing, the smell of the salty sea in the air, the breeze blowing through lots of huge trees all around us – lots of places to explore and disappear into little hidey-holes (that my children nick-named the Amazon) We walked and splashed among the rock pools, discovered a tiny perfect shell of a crab, collected all kinds of treasures – sea shells on a beautiful white beach, leaves in the woods, sticks around our tent for the fire and stones to add to our collection.

Camping is hard work and yet it is incredibly refreshing to the heart. I felt so close to God, so strengthened and renewed. There is something about being out in God’s beautiful creation that makes you SLOW DOWN and enjoy Him, enjoy each other, enjoy the beauty of our world.


“O LORD our Lord, how excellent [is] thy name in all the earth! who hast set thy glory above the heavens.” Psalm 8 v 1

I am always amazed when I think of God creating the substance of the earth from nothing! – of God creating the ocean, the animals, the trees, the sky, all so powerful, so vast and so breathtaking – all to operate in such perfect harmony and beauty. Incredible!

“The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.” Psalm 19 v 1

It makes me fall more in love with God.

I see His power reflected in the waves crashing onto the rocks and the wind blowing in the dark of night all around our tent as we snuggle inside.

I see His beauty reflected in the endless beaches, the tiny shells and the still blue waters.

“For the earth shall be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the LORD, as the waters cover the sea.” Habakkuk 2 v 14

I see His tenderness and love reflected in my daughters precious face as she runs to show me a treasure discovered.

I see His majesty and timelessness revealed in the giant trees towering over us with their great limbs and roots stretching out in all directions.

I see His mysteriousness and his faithfulness reflected in the blue skies and the bright stars above.

It puts everything in perspective again. It helps me see that He comes first and that my time is to be spent as He wills it. My time with my husband and children and my investment into their lives and the lives of others is what will last for eternity. It reminds me to keep close to Him for that peace that rules my heart.

Thank you, dearest God.

“And God said, Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed is in itself, upon the earth: and it was so. And the earth brought forth grass, herb yielding seed after his kind, and the tree yielding fruit, whose seed was in itself, after his kind: and God saw that it was good.” Genesis 1 v 11-12

Leave a Reply

