Our Week in 10 Pictures – 10 Oct 2011

On the old train at Intaka Iisland, Canal Walk

Climbing on the outside is even more fun.

Gorgeous in our summer hats!

Camouflage!

Over the bridge.

A young man driving our boat!


All of us after our boat trip.

Camping in the garden.

Eating dinner outside – a Monday evening tradition.

I must tell you about the most wonderful, delicious, incredible vegetable ever created – the artichoke! I could eat just these every day – and the other girls in the family love them too – though not quite as much as Mom!

“For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.” Proverbs 3 v 7

2 thoughts on “Our Week in 10 Pictures – 10 Oct 2011

  1. Tammy says:

    Hi can you tell me what to do to the artichoke? Do you cook it? Love Tammy

    • Hi Tammy Yes, I steam it. I have a large 3 tier steamer that can easily cook 4 artichokes but you can also do it with a stovetop steamer in a pot. Before cooking, I cut the stalk a little shorter and cut off the ends of the leaves so it can stand flat to be eaten (stalk up). I cook it stalk down though so it steams fastest – for about 30 minutes. Then I stand it (stalk up) on a plate and eat the base of each leaf one at a time cutting off and eating the delicious centre as I go 🙂 love, Karyn

Leave a Reply

