A Special Gift

My just-turned-2 little girl woke at 5am this morning.

My children are really great with sleeping from 8ish in the evening to 7am or later most days – which is a huge blessing. My little one hasn’t woken in the night for months – and lately she’s been showing signs of slowing down with breastfeeding – and I am holding on for dear life! I don’t want it to end. With each child it becomes more precious as I value more and more the closeness it brings.

So last night God gave me a special gift. She woke at 5am and didn’t want to settle in her cot so I held her in my arms in our bed the rest of the night – she usually she wont do that, but wriggles.

It was wonderful! holding her and looking down at that sweet little face as she dozed and opened her eyes now and then to gaze sleepily at me, praying for her and dozing myself.

I was thinking how fast they grow up and how much I’m gonna miss this wonderful season with little ones surrounding me (am sure glad its not done yet!!!)

The times when I get impatient or when a project is unfinished or interrupted for the hundredth time, I’m going to remember this and how much I should cherish this season. I’m going to remind myself to use it as a time to invest in my precious children – for in the blink of an eye this season will be gone.

“That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.” Titus 2 v 5,6

See Also:

This wonderful post at Raising Olives on Patience and Investing in your Child’s Life.

The Beautiful Peace of God

2 thoughts on “A Special Gift

  1. I so relate with the holding onto those precious times of breastfeeding and snuggling with those little ones in the early hours of the morning. Remembering the sweetness is a great way to help with patience.

    Sweet post.

Leave a Reply

