How Do You Cope? – Exercise

How do you fit in EXERCISE!? Hubby and I desperately need to get more exercise and we are struggling to fit it in.

About 2 weeks ago, we  decided to make a renewed effort and these are some of the things we are doing:

* Family walks on weekends and some evenings when possible.

Usually, though I need this time to catch up with cooking, cleaning, meal planning, etc. We have been getting into eating more raw food again (we used to do this lots and our health has deteriorated quite a bit since we stopped). The thing is, though, that it takes lots of time to make healthy raw food (in the dehydrator – or good salads and smoothies!)

* We are also trying to get into a running program – 3 times per week – but running is more hubby’s thing than mine. Slowly does it!

* Walking (or running) the dogs also works! The children love to come along for this – we try to keep it to one child at a time as the dogs are rather energetic and quite easily pull them off their feet!

* We have also started to have exercise time for 20 minutes in the evening with the little ones. Mom with the girls, and Dad with the boys. Its great when the boys blow off steam with Dad – they need that!

Us girls have a great time together. I have always loved aerobics and the times when I have got into doing it regularly have been the healthiest times for me – so we have so enjoyed doing my Aerobics DVDs set to Christian music. Even our 1 year-old manages to imitate some of the actions. I don’t wish to do exercise that takes me away from my children and also I don’t have huge amounts of time to shower after exercise, etc. – so this seems to be working best for me at the moment – long may it continue!

How do you find time for exercise and what do you do?

Of course, the quote has to be:

“For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come. ” 1 Titus 4 v 8

As long as we find more time for godliness than for exercise, all will fall into place!

See also:

Part 1 – How do you cope?

Raising Olives – I’m Tired

5 thoughts on “How Do You Cope? – Exercise

  1. […] FABULOUS FAMILIES ← How Do You Cope? – Exercise […]

  2. Although I think I’d prefer to exercise first thing in the morning, it works for me to exercise while the kids have quiet time in the afternoon. I’m doing the Couch to 5K program also and am planning on running in a couple of 5K’s this fall. We’ll see how it goes. 🙂

  3. Nikki says:

    Hi Karyn

    Stumbled across your blog and found it to be a great source of information, exhortation, encouragement and inspiration! I truly think you guys are a fabulous family! God Bless you and your family as you walk in His paths of righteousness, peaces and JOY. Love Nikki M

Leave a Reply

