The Beautiful Peace of God

“And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Phillipians 4v7

The peace of God that passes understanding – what a powerful picture of God’s all-encompassing peace!

The time that I have experienced God’s peace in the most tangible way was on the night when my dear sister-in-law passed away.

I am weeping as I write this – both with sadness at the loss of our precious sister and with the incredible beauty of God and His peace.

It was night-time near the beginning of December 2010.

My brother and his wife lived in the USA and she had given birth to their first baby 3 days before – a little girl called Abigail.

Earlier that evening my brother had sms’d us to ask us to pray for Roz as she was going back to hospital with great pain in her chest. Later we were told it was an infection in the bloodstream – and a strep virus that had attacked her heart.

I felt a great urgency to pray for her at about 3am and I got up to pace the room and cry out to God. That turned out to be the first time her heart stopped.

God spoke to me that night and showed me things of comfort and of concern – to pray for my brother, for his dear wife and their precious little baby.

Finally after falling asleep, I awoke at about 5:30am with the most tangible presence of God and his incredible indescribable beautiful peace surrounding me like a thick blanket – and I saw a brilliant white powerful waterfall sparkling in the sunlight. God’s peace was so close and so real that I felt I could touch it – and touch His heart.

I started to weep because I knew. I woke my husband and told him that I knew the peace I was feeling wasn’t for me – it was for Roz. I knew that she had gone to be with the Lord.

What an awesome taste of the beauty and peace and wonderfulness of our God – a tiny taste of what she was experiencing. Such a gift and such a comfort to me as we faced the devastation and pain of losing Roz.

Please pray for my brother, Ian and his little Abi as they face life without their precious wife and mommy.

Thank you.

If you have lost a loved one, or are hurting…  I pray that God’s beautiful peace and comfort would be present with you – and would keep your heart and mind through Christ Jesus.

“Bless the LORD, O my soul. O LORD my God, thou art very great; thou art clothed with honour and majesty. Who coverest thyself with light as with a garment: who stretchest out the heavens like a curtain: Who layeth the beams of his chambers in the waters: who maketh the clouds his chariot: who walketh upon the wings of the wind: Who maketh his angels spirits; his ministers a flaming fire: Who laid the foundations of the earth, that it should not be removed for ever. O LORD, how manifold are thy works! in wisdom hast thou made them all: the earth is full of thy riches.”

Psalm 104:1-4,24 KJV

5 thoughts on “The Beautiful Peace of God

  1. Andy says:

    Hi Karyn,
    Thank you for sharing your heart it really blessed me.
    How is your brother doing? Abigail must be growing up so much.
    I pray that the Lord continues to flood your heart with His peace and that He would do the same for your brother.
    lots of love,
    Andy
    xoxox

  2. Linnie Lues says:

    Thank you for this comforting post and sharing your heart, Karyn. It blessed me, so much!

    • Thanks Linnie. Its very hard to accept God’s will sometimes but He brings such peace in the storm. Its hard seeing my brother go through this. I trust in the Lord for His redemptive purposes. So glad it blessed you! I pray for God’s beautiful peace to continue to carry you after your loss and for His redemptive purpose in your family’s lives! much love, Karyn

  3. […] Rozanne and Abi Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

