Terrific Toddlers Have Fun – Part 1

I have been planning for a while to put up a tots activity to join in with Beautiful Girlhood’s “Tot School” with Kelly-Anne

but I have struggled to come up with something that is a good “tots activity”. Most of the time our two toddlers just join in with whatever the other are doing or sit on my lap and play with something from their boxes of activities. Kelly-Anne’s activities are always wonderfully messy and creative and some of them you have to be rather brave to attempt! Have a look at her wonderful ideas here…

But finally, here is the first installment of “Terrific Toddlers Have Fun!”

We love to play with beans of various shapes and sizes, pasta and popcorn.

I prefer the larger beans as its easier to clean up and find the stray ones afterwards. Each child has a jar of beans or pasta, some pouring implements and some containers.

The littlest one goes in the plastic pool with her loot.

While 2 and 4 year old are at the table with baking trays to play on.

Pouring, sorting, piling up – lots of fun!

Counting…

examining,

putting in jars… excellent pastime!

Another reason that I have struggled to come up with ideas for tots “activities” is that we believe that our children should learn to always work alongside us and take on their share of the responsibility. This may seem crazy at age one or two but the amazing thing is that it is my one & two year old that complain the most if I don’t involve them in what I am doing. If I am kneading bread dough they want to try, if I am juicing carrots – they want to do it too and they just love it!!

If we are making a smoothie they’ll drag the step along and climb up to join in – washing dishes, vacuuming, mowing the lawn – whatever it is we are doing, they wanna do it too! Its how they experience life and learn – and besides they are little mama’s and dada’s in training!

Anyway, so the messy activities are usually part of the general doing of the day – next time I’ll share one of those.

Just thought I’d add this in. The other day while I was cooking, Little Miss here was watching and I gave her a bowl of water and a straw and she had wonderful fun blowing bubbles and drinking in between!

There’s even a verse for it 🙂  – see below…

Thanks, Kelly-Anne for inspiring me!

I’ve also linked this to WORKS FOR ME WEDNESDAY on wearethatfamily.com. Have a look there for many wonderful tips on all kinds of things!

love, Karyn

“And whosoever shall give to drink unto one of these little ones a cup of cold [water] only in the name of a disciple, verily I say unto you, he shall in no wise lose his reward.” Matthew 10v42

Leave a Reply

