Prayer for the Lee and Crawford Families

About a week ago, there was a comment from Sherry on my blog that she liked the look of the crustless quiche and was going to try it as she had “a milk cow providing milk, egg laying chickens, and leeks and green onions in the garden.” and she was looking forward to preparing it soon.

I had a look at Sherry’s blog A Bakers Dozen Barnhouse News. I loved it and I immediately felt an affinity with this wonderful family. I read many posts from her blog over the next few days and was so amazed by her lovely family, her children building little houses for themselves all over her farm, the cows, the planting – their beautiful white wooden farmhouse with red roses around the outside and lovely new window boxes waiting to be painted. You could just see the love and care that Sherry and her family put into their home.

It was so lovely to connect with her in this way – so I was so devastated to hear that on Wednesday evening her husband Tom Lee was killed protecting his family from the tornado. Their home was completely destroyed. Their precious children were trapped under the collapsed house for hours and 3 were injured. Doug from Vision Form shares about this on his blog.

This photo was taken on Resurrection Sunday.

The Crawford family from Generation Cedar also lost their home  and are staying with a family from their church with their newborn son and other 8 children. Read more here.

I cannot find the words to express the pain and anguish I feel for these dear families. Sherry especially, my heart goes out to you for the loss of your dear husband and I am so devastated.

It is so wonderful to hear of all that is being done to help by the body of Christ in their area and surroundings. Kelly and Sherry, we will continue to pray for your precious families.

My dear brother lost his wife in December last year just three days after their first little girl was born. How does one even begin to cope after something like that.

How do we respond to such tragedy, such devastation to life as we know it – and such pain.

As an outsider who has never experienced this depth of loss (though I miss my precious sister-in-law dearly – I see two things – incredible pain and incredible strength intermingled. The strength is God’s alone.

Such loss and such grace intermingled.

Amazing Grace,
How sweet the sound
Amazing love,
Now flowing down
From hands and feet
That were nailed to the tree
As grace flows down and covers me

“How long wilt thou forget me, O LORD? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me? How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily? how long shall mine enemy be exalted over me? Consider and hear me, O LORD my God: lighten mine eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death; Lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him; and those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved. But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation. I will sing unto the LORD, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.” Psalm 13

“Thy mercy, O LORD, is in the heavens; and thy faithfulness reacheth unto the clouds. Thy righteousness is like the great mountains; thy judgments are a great deep: O LORD, thou preservest man and beast. How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God! therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings.” Psalm 36v5-7

“I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD. Blessed is that man that maketh the LORD his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies. Many, O LORD my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered.” Psalm 40v1-5

“My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved. In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God. Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah. ” Psalm 62v5-8

Lord, I ask for your grace and provision for the Lee and Crawford families. I ask you to comfort the Lee family, help them to find solace in you. Please draw them so close to you in their grief and to each other. Protect and keep them. Help them to cling to you and give them strengthen in their hearts. Please provide for all their needs. Lord, please bless Sherry with your grace and gentle comfort.

Please bless the Crawford family – give them grace and strength with their newborn and other precious children. Encourage them in their hearts. Please hold them in your arms of comfort and provide for all they need. Help them to increase in faith in You during this time.

Lord, I also ask for your provision and comfort for the many other families affected by the tornadoes. Amen

“For this cause we also, since the day we heard [it], do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding” Colossians 1v9

2 thoughts on “Prayer for the Lee and Crawford Families

  1. Linnie Lues says:

    Karen, I was devastated too, when I read this news on Kelly’s blog!
    Thank you for the prayer, we agree in spirit and will keep praying.
    Blessings

Leave a Reply

