The Beginning – Our Life’s Puzzle Part 1

I would like to tell you some of the story of our lives thus far – our adventures, travels, joys, struggles and our learning and growing together – the puzzle of our lives, piece by piece….

I hope you enjoy the journey!

Handsome hubby and I met almost 15 years ago at a lively student church where we were both starting to learn about the Bible – what it really said – and to read it for ourselves. We are still on that journey of learning to know God – reading, learning, adjusting our thinking and renewing our minds.

We had lots of special times together with friends, at cell group and in our church’s music ministry.

Hubby and I sought God about our relationship and He confirmed it for us. We got engaged about 8 months after we met, and we were married in May 1997 on a wonderful special day that began the story of us…

We are so aware of how God led us and blessed us in bringing us together and how he continues to lead us and teach us every day of our lives.

The thing I remember most about our wedding was walking down the line of people greeting us as we left the reception to our car – hugging each of them and saying goodbye – and being so aware of LEAVING to go and start our life together.

I also loved the ‘family’ness of our wedding. My Mom made my dress, did the catering and made the cake!!!

My friends plus hubby and I made the invitations, order of service and tiny wedding cakes for each guest. My aunt did the flowers. My younger brother and his friends were our waiters and waitresses and my sister in law played the violin. A good friend did the sound mixing for the band – which was made up of church friends! A lot of really special people gave so much to make our wedding wonderful! We were so blessed. I also loved the ringing of the huge church bell to announce that we were married!

Yay! Let the adventures begin…

In our first year together we lived for six months in a little house and then in an upstairs flat in Newlands in the Western Cape of South Africa. We enjoyed the close proximity to the forest, university and church. It was so wonderful to be able to be together all the time – we were like two kids playing house. We learnt about each other, about how to talk to each other – and how not to! I had lots to learn about respect and serving my hubby and he had lots to learn about understanding his wife emotionally. We grew in love.

Hubby worked in IT and I trained little old ladies in how to use the computer. We spent hours talking and talking…

We loved to go for walks on the beach,

… visits to the dam,

… and to have friends over for a meal.

We were both really immature in our knowledge of a marriage relationship – me of being a helpmeet and a homemaker… but God blessed me with the most incredible husband – who has loved me wholeheartedly and unconditionally through it all. He is my hero.

I am amazed as I look back how much I have changed (very thankful for that!!!) Although we had such special times together and good times with friends, we wasted a lot of precious time in frivolous pursuits and mindless entertainment – many, many movies, eating out, walking the shopping malls. We had no idea about the richness of family life and community – of having many wonderful precious children, of serving God with our family and our lives. We had only seen the commercial version. But God was at work – he hadn’t given up on us!

I am sad over the wasted years and over the frivolous way we spent our first years together, but I am so thankful to our wonderful Lord for the work he has done in us, the way he is changing us and all he has taught us through our lives together, through his word and through our precious children.

Sometimes we can be blind to what God is working in us and doing in our lives – but when we look at our life’s journey we see the threads of his grace woven throughout and His mysteries unfolding.

We spent a year overseas in Mountain View, California – the heart of Silicon Valley and we met some wonderful people there who sewed seeds in our lives and hearts which were to bear fruit much later.


See Part 2 of Our Life’s Puzzle here

“I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.” Psalm 139 v14,15

One thought on “The Beginning – Our Life’s Puzzle Part 1

Leave a Reply

