Organizing!

Organizing!! Even though I am a South African I like to spell organizing with a Z – it seems to give it an extra Zzing!! – plus it keeps my spell-checker from bugging me about it 🙂

There seems to be a lot of organizing happening around the blog world at the moment (although I’m quite new to the blog world, so maybe its been there all along!)

I am definitely not a very organized person though I absolutely love the concept of organizing. I get so inspired seeing the end result of what people have done to organize. I think the reason for the gap sometimes between being inspired by organizing and actually managing to complete it is the feeling of being overwhelmed! One step at a time – my handsome hubby always says! Bite size steps seem to help so much!

I’ve been inspired by Se7en and Organising Junkie to do my organizing in bite size chunks. Have a look at the organizing on their websites – you will really be inspired!

Its funny – many friends who know me well say that I seem very organized. I think what they see is the latest organizing project that I am so inspired by.  They don’t see the chaos in other areas. I am very slowly learning how to organise each part of our lives. Its wonderful to learn to prayerfully consider an area and plan how to organize it before even attempting to do so – that I learned from Organizing Junkie and definitely never thought of before. Its putting the systems in place that maintain the organization that help in the long-term – otherwise before you know it things are completely unorganized again.

A couple of years ago my hubby and I went through a big change of heart – and home…

We decided to simplify our lives in a major way. Believe me, we needed to!!! We moved from a huge house to a lovely snug house – and then we moved again as God lead us a year later. We so love the little house we are in right now. It fits us perfectly. Its not too big for us to keep clean, the garden is lovely, its just right – a real blessing! Many things have been simplified over the years but the organizing still has a way to go – most of all the keeping things organized part! I need to have a system that works for each area – and that everyone in the family can understand and help maintain. That is what I am working on!

So – this week’s area of organization – the kitchen grocery cupboard.

The children and I had great fun doing this. We took everything out of the grocery cupboard and shopping bags and then we played SHOP. They collected goods and I went shopping and bought things from them to restock the cupboard in an orderly way. They decided the prices, I paid them (from our jar of counting money) and they gave me change!

I always forget to take the before photos but here is the after photo.

After that we were so inspired we did the fridge too – though not quite as thoroughly I can see now!

Also, I just had to take a photo of this – I love our fruit bowl! The children polish off all this fruit in just a couple of days.

An area that needs prayerful thought and a good system is the children’s art supplies and art work. My children love to give their art work as gifts and hate to throw anything away (though we do eventually). We have a display table, art folders for big artwork, files for small artwork, art boxes for work in progress and “card” boxes for special things – plus a big box of old art work creations. We also have art supplies paper, cardboard, etc.  Whew!

(update – thats done, YAY! See Organizing Part 4: Craft and Art Folders)

I would love to hear if you have any good ideas for or links to ideas for organizing children’s crafts. Thanks so much and happy organizing!

My Organizing Journey so far:

Part 2 – Recipes & Cluttered Surfaces

Part 3 – First Set of Drawers

Part 4 – Crafts and Art Folders

Part 5 – The Fireplace

Part 6 – Puzzles and Activity Boxes

Part 7 – Recipes into the File

Part 8 – Hubby’s Desk Drawers

Part 9 – The Whole Office!

“She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 31v27

10 thoughts on “Organizing!

  1. Laura says:

    I love that you were inspired to keep going, awesome!!

    Laura

  2. Mary says:

    I forget before pictures a lot too!

    • Hi Mary
      Thanks so much for coming to visit 🙂 Yes, I get so inspired about the organising that I’m about to do that I start unpacking cupboards and often bury the camera in the rubble! Your website looks lovely – funny about the barbie searches!! love, Karyn

  3. Heather says:

    For art work that fits on our scanner, we scan the pictures and have them printed out as photos and put them in an album. Then he can flip through his artwork in one book. Granted, he is 3 and they are mostly scribbles and finger paints right now. The art goes in the paper recycle and we have a small, manageable solution to the “Don’t throw my drawing away” crisis.

    • Hi Heather Lovely to hear what you do with your sons artwork! Great idea to have it in an album for him to look through. Children so love being able to look at what they have done or where they have been. Its funny that you call yourself a clutterbug – I so relate! Isn’t it great learning to be organised! Thanks for taking the time to comment! love, Karyn

  4. I love your fruit bowl! It looks yummy.

  5. Tonia says:

    I loved the idea of playing “shop” with your kids! What a blessed way to get chores done while keeping the kids entertained (and helping them learn creatively in the meantime)! One of the best examples I’ve seen on how to handle housecleaning with our important role as a mommy.

    • Hi Tonia Thanks! I’m so glad you were inspired by the shop idea. I am slowly learning how to involve our children in whatever we do. They love to be part of it all and they learn so much – also about being mommy’s or daddies themselves 🙂 much love, Karyn

Leave a Reply

