Thoughts on Babies and Birth Control

I was thinking that I have never put into words my thoughts on babies, birth control and whatnot. I decided to do that to help clear my thinking on the subject. This is not exactly a well-thought out argument – just some thoughts under the surface that haven’t been expressed – especially as I hear the opposite expressed so often! So, here goes…

I believe that:

1. Children are a heritage from God and a reward – they are God bestowing us with eternal riches – blessings!

The Bible says children are like arrows and happy is the man who has his quiver full of them:

“Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward. As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth. Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.” Psa 127:3-5

Wiki Answers.com says: there are a wide variety of quiver and arrow types. Most modern hunting quivers hold somewhere around five arrows. Most medieval quivers were sized to hold between ten and fifteen, with an even dozen being the number most commonly alluded to in literature.

I’m not saying we all need to have between ten and fifteen children. I think the actual number of arrows here is not that relevant. The point is that a hunter has a quiver and he will fill it with arrows – he is not going to leave it half empty! The manufacturer knows how many arrows the quiver should hold. If we surrender our wombs to the Lord, then we don’t have to worry about how many is too many or too few – its in His hands. he will provide for our needs as we trust Him.

 

2. Although I don’t know much about all the different forms of birth control, I do believe that they have their root in feminism and often in selfishness. I believe they are far too prevalent in the body of Christ and far too easily accepted by Christians.

I believe the pill can cause abortions.

This is a great book – Does the Birth Control Pill Cause Abortions? by Randy Alcorn

3. I believe that most of the time the decision not to have more children is rooted in one of the following:

A. Lack of mentoring by our mothers and Titus 2 mentorship in the body of Christ so that we have never learnt or seen how to “cope” with our children. We are thrown in the deep end when our babies are born.  We are sure that we are not able to “cope” with more. Blessed are the children that grow up with purpose, helping in the family home and learning how to look after their siblings. There is also often fear of childbirth and of parenting – and perhaps disillusionment with the parenting / children we have been exposed to.

B. Believing the lie that we are unable to “cope” with more instead of seeing children as God’s blessing in shaping us in our lives. I believe God’s primary purpose in our time before eternity is to shape our characters. Children aren’t easy – they are very hard work and challenging but that doesn’t mean we aren’t meant to have them!

C. Sometimes the selfishness of “enjoying our life” too much to be inconvenienced.


My husband and I definitely fell into the selfishness, fear and dissilusionment categories. Its been an amazing journey and God has changed us so much – and he definitely has a lot more work to do in me!

4. I don’t wish to condemn or criticize anyone. I believe each person is responsible before God for their own choices and decisions. My heart breaks though when I see wonderful families with many children criticized and treated impolitely or disdainfully just because they have many children!

And 1 more point…

5. …bottom line, I WANT lots of children. I love them – they are so precious. I love little babies – their tini-ness, their dependency on Mommy, the first time they look into my eyes, the first time they smile and laugh, the first time they say “Mama!” I love toddlers, their energy, their precociousness, their determination to grow and learn, their vulnerability when exhausted and needing cuddles and love, their precious hearts; I love little ones – they grow so fast it takes your breath away, I love their joy the first time they learn to read, the delight in their eyes when they manage to do something that they couldn’t before or when they make you a special gift, I love the privilege and the honour of being parents and I’m gonna love every moment of this journey as they grow up. I can’t imagine not wanting more and I can’t imagine “stopping” on my own. If God made my body stop being fertile and told me I was finished I would feel very sad – but I would accept it and enjoy my precious blessings – but I could never “stop” on purpose. Its so freeing to not have to “decide” something so great and significant, something that will affect my life forever and that will echo on through eternity. How wonderful to be able to leave it in God’s hands!

 

“Blessed is every one that feareth the LORD; that walketh in his ways. For thou shalt eat the labour of thine hands: happy shalt thou be, and it shall be well with thee. Thy wife shall be as a fruitful vine by the sides of thine house: thy children like olive plants round about thy table. Behold, that thus shall the man be blessed that feareth the LORD. The LORD shall bless thee out of Zion: and thou shalt see the good of Jerusalem all the days of thy life. Yea, thou shalt see thy children’s children, and peace upon Israel.” Psalm 128

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Babies and Birth Control

  1. Linnie Lues says:

    What a beautiful post!
    I’m now at an age where God can decide to stop my fertility and can I be honest, I don’t know how I’m going to handle it! I don’t know how I’m going to cope without a baby in the house! Me too, just love my babies, love my toddlers, love my little ones and oh! I love my young adults and how they enrich my life.
    Praise the Lord, He does not expect from me to decide when I want to stop my fertility!
    Thank you for sharing what you believe, Karyn!
    Blessings

  2. Oh Linnie, I so relate to that and don’t want to think about the time when there isn’t a baby in the house anymore. We are so very blessed to be mothers and to be able to enjoy every moment of preciousness! Thank you Lord! Linnie, I love how you love your children 🙂

Leave a Reply

